A Head Full of Wishes

A Head Full of Wishes is a site for Galaxie 500, Luna, Damon & Naomi, Dean & Britta and Dean Wareham. With news, articles and lists of releases and past and future shows.

<-- back to home

My record collection
#121: Fuxa Commits Suicide (CD)

So space-rock supremo(s) Fuxa put in their second appearance, and (t)he(y) will be back at least a couple more times before the end of the series. This release, as the puntastic name suggests is an EP of Suicide covers and it contains a cover of Cheree that Dean sings on.

Fuxa Commits Suicide CD
Fuxa Commits Suicide CD

The version of Cheree here seems to be the same as the one on the previous Fuxa entry in this series, but is described on the sleeve as the/a “Richard Formby mix”.

However, since it is over 10 minutes long, the EP also includes a “radio edit” - but, given that even that is over six minutes long I suspect it didn’t find itself on too many radio playlists! Which is a shame because it is rather great. The “radio edit” doesn’t seem to be an edit of the Richard Formby mix so I guess it’s an edit of a version that hasn’t seen the light of day?

Unlike Electric Sounds of Summer this release does give more detailed credits and Dean’s contribution is just the vocal. The EP also includes a version of Suicide’s “Girl” with Sonic Boom, and an original Fuxa track “4th Abductions” that features Suicide’s Martin Rev.

  • Catalogue Number: AHFOW 10/132
  • Artist: Fuxa
  • Title: Fuxa Commits Suicide
  • Packaging: Jewel case
  • Format: CD
  • I bought this direct from Randall for $12 in July 2007. He sent me a poster too, although… not sure where that is!
  • Buy ‘Fuxa Commits Suicide’ on Bandcamp

Previously in my record collection: