A Head Full of Wishes

A Head Full of Wishes is a site for Galaxie 500, Luna, Damon & Naomi, Dean & Britta and Dean Wareham. With news, articles and lists of releases and past and future shows.

<-- back to home

My record collection
#075: Michio Kurihara - Sunset Notes (CD)

In 2005 Damon & Naomi started their own record label 20|20|20 which they used in 2007 to release Michio Kurihara’s 2005 album Sunset Notes that had previously been released in Japan.

Michio Kurihara - Sunset Notes (CD, and guitar pick)
Michio Kurihara - Sunset Notes (CD, and guitar pick)

Kurihara had already long been a collaborator with Damon & Naomi, having first appeared on their album With Ghost and having toured with them extensively. Damon & Naomi had been involved in the original Japanese release so it was only natural that they should try and get the album a wider audience.

It is an album mostly made up of guitar led, instrumental pieces (although they all have lyrics in the sleeve notes) - the exceptions being the two gorgeously fragile tracks that are blessed with gentle, whispery vocals by Ai Aso - Wind Waltzes and The Wind’s Twelve Quarters.

The first 100 copies came with a limited edition guitar pick. I got one. This was the second souvenir guitar pick I had - the first was plucked out of the air when Lemmy threw it into the audience at the end of a Motörhead show at The Marquee in 1983 … I kept it in my wallet and prodly showed it to anyone who cared… and then one day it wasn’t there any more. I’ve had so many wallets since then but I keep thinking I might find it again in one of them.

  • Catalogue Number: AHFOW 10/027
  • Artist: Michio Kurihara
  • Title: Sunset Notes
  • Notes: With limited edition guitar pick
  • Packaging: Jewel case
  • Format: CD
  • Bought direct from Damon & Naomi / 20|20|20 in 2007 for $10.98 (+ postage)
  • Buy ‘Sunset Notes’ on Bandcamp