On Fire | 30 - a new Galaxie 500 tribute CD and book from A Head Full of Wishes

in categories:

On Fire 30 CD sleeve (design: John Conley)
On Fire | 30 CD sleeve (design: John Conley)

It turns out 1989 was an amazing year for music. It was for me anyway my life was changed in so many ways that year. Galaxie 500’s On Fire was one of those ways. It entered my life on one side of a C90 cassette and hasn’t left my life since. In spring of 2019 I had an idea that something needed to be done to celebrate 30 years of that life-changing occurrence.

On Fire | 30 - limited edition art book
On Fire | 30 - limited edition art book

This is what came of that idea. An idea that started as a fanzine but with help and encouragement from friends has turned into a beautiful artefact. A 28 page book taking the songs from the album as inspiration for visual and textual art by some fantastic artists, and an amazing 14 track CD containing a cover of the whole of On Fire by some fantastic bands and musicians.

Today you can pre-order On Fire | 30 a tribute CD containing covers of all the tracks on On Fire (plus the tracks on the Blue Thunder EP).

The deluxe book and CD package is limited to 200 copies which contain the book, badges and postcards The book is a 7” square so it’ll fit nicely in amongst your singles! 30 random copies will also have a numbered, signed, hand-printed lino-cut print.

On Fire | 30 ~ a tribute to Galaxie 500

On Fire 30 book cover
On Fire | 30 book cover

You can pre-order today on Bandcamp

Pre-orders get one track to download now (Vacance's lovely mellotron-driven take on Strange) and the rest as soon as the package is shipped in early December.

Pre order On Fire | 30

Contributors include some old friends I’ve known for a long time and some friends I’ve just made - some names you’ll know and some you’ll want to know, and includes Britta Phillips doing a beautiful cover of Leave The Planet, Robert Scott (The Bats) gorgeous take on Tell Me, and Ron Harrity (Nord Express) who does a marvellous version of When Will You Come Home with synths and a vintage acoustic guitar.


But every track is a gem!

Here’s the full tracklist:

  • Blue Thunder - Up Periscope
  • Tell Me - Robert Scott
  • Snowstorm - Milton
  • Strange - Vacance
  • When Will You Come Home - Ron Harrity
  • Decomposing Trees - The Standby Connection
  • Another Day - Monserrat
  • Leave the Planet - Britta Phillips
  • Clip con forma de corazón (Plastic Bird) - Río Arga
  • Isn’t It a Pity - Llum

  • Blue Thunder - Islandia Nunca Quema
  • Victory Garden - Ghost Transmission
  • Ceremony - Cápsula de Sueños
  • Cold Night - Da Loma

There is also a standard edition of the release with just the CD. But, why would you want that? No badges in cute Naomi-earring inspired hand-printed envelopes!

Even the badges come in cute hand-printed Naomi-earring envelopes!
Even the badges come in cute hand-printed Naomi-earring envelopes!